Quick Start

RIOT quick start guide

You can launch RIOT with the following command:


This will show usage help, which you can also get by running:

riot --help
You can use --help on any command and sub-command:
riot command --help
riot command sub-command --help


RIOT includes the following commands:

General options

  • -d, --debug
    Log in debug mode (includes normal stacktrace).
  • -H, --help
    Show this help message and exit.
  • -i, --info
    Set log level to info.
  • -q, --quiet
    Log errors only.
  • --stacktrace
    Print out the stacktrace for all exceptions.
  • -V, --version
    Print version information and exit.
  • -w, --warn
    Set log level to warn.

Redis connection options

Use the following options to configure connections to Redis.

  • -h, --hostname
    Server hostname
  • -p, --port
    Server port
  • -u, --uri
    Server URI. For syntax see Redis URI syntax.
  • -c, --cluster
    Enable cluster mode
  • -n, --db
    Database number
  • --timeout
    Redis command timeout
  • --client
    Client name used to connect to Redis
  • --user
    ACL style 'AUTH username pass'. Needs password
  • -a, --pass
    Password to use when connecting to the server
  • --tls
    Establish a secure TLS connection
  • --tls-verify
    TLS peer-verify mode: FULL (default), NONE, CA
  • --cacert
    X.509 CA certificate file to verify with
  • --cert
    X.509 cert chain file to authenticate (PEM)
  • --key
    PKCS#8 private key file to authenticate (PEM)
  • --key-pwd
    Private key password
  • --no-auto-reconnect
    Disable auto-reconnect on connection loss

Job options

  • -b, --batch
    Number of items in each batch (default: 50). See Batching section for more details.
  • --progress
    Style of progress bar (default: ascii)
  • block: Color Unicode block
  • bar: Color Unicode bar
  • ascii: ASCII bar
  • log: ASCII logs
  • none: no progress bar
  • --skip-policy
    Policy to determine what should be done when errors occur during processing.
  • always: ignore errors and continue with processing
  • never: fail as soon as an error occurs.
  • limit: continue with processing until number of errors reached --skip-limit.
  • --skip-limit
    Max number of failed items before considering the transfer has failed (default: 3). Only used for limit skip policy.
  • --sleep
    Duration in ms to sleep after writing each batch (default: 0).
  • --threads
    Number of concurrent threads to use for batch processing (default: 1). See Multi-threading section for more details.
Back to top ↑